midsouthracing.com Forum Index
Comp Cams
Dirty Girl Racewear Dirt Heads Crowley's Ridge Raceway
I-30 New Vision Your Ad
Your Ad George Kell Sign Co. Smileys Racing Products

 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in  Subscribe 

Simpson Tops CCSDS Action at Lucas Oil Speedway

Post new topic   Reply to topic    midsouthracing.com Forum Index -> Midsouth Racing Scene Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ben Shelton
Short Admin

Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 12070

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2018 1:21 pm    Post subject: Simpson Tops CCSDS Action at Lucas Oil Speedway Reply with quote

Contact: Ben Shelton (msrmafia@gmail.com)
October 13, 2018

Simpson Tops COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Action at Lucas Oil Speedway
Jack Sullivan Clinches Fourth-Straight CCSDS Title

(Special to Lucas Oil MLRA PR)

Wheatland, Missouri (10/13/18 ) – After seeing the weekend condensed to a single day after a rain out on Friday, the 5th annual Lucas Oil Fall Nationals finally came to life on Saturday evening at Lucas Oil Speedway as the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series and the Lucas Oil MLRA squared off in a $5,500-to-win event.

The action-packed feature found Iowa’s Chad Simpson surviving challenging conditions to claim the victory. The driver of the GATR Truck Center/Liebe Trucking # 25 rallied late to record his second CCSDS win of the season The victory was worth $5,000 plus an additional $500 bonus in memory of the late Ron Jenkins, the original builder of the Wheatland Raceway.

After rains claimed night one of the 5th Annual Fall Nationals on Friday night, track crews worked all day on Saturday to get the track ironed out for the 44 car field that would take to the Lucas Oil Speedway on Saturday.

Tony Jackson, Jr. would fire from the New Vision Graphics Pole alongside of last year's Fall Nationals winner, Jesse Stovall. Jackson paced the early laps before trouble would strike Lucas Oil MLRA championship contender Vaught. Exiting turn two on lap four, Jackson would briefly slow and bunch up the pack resulting in contact between Vaught and Logan Martin. Both drivers would be able to continue, though re-starting from the rear.

On the ensuing restart Stovall took command, but had to endure a multitude of short run re-starts on the super-fast track. The field was finally able to put a long caution free stretch together until the yellow would fly once again on lap 28 for Rickey Frankel. During the extended caution period, the red flag was displayed to allow drivers to change helmets and tear offs. The race originally scheduled for 50 laps was also reduced to 40 before going back to the green for the final 12 circuits due to track conditions and the threat of incoming rain.

Stovall would lead back to the green, but a bobble on the following lap in turns 1-2 by the 2016 series champ would open the door for Simpson. As Stovall push up the track it allowed Simpson to make a champion’s move off the exit of turn two, driving past second running Sullivan and Stovall to take the lead. Simpson said of the battle for the lead, "The track was brutal and I knew it was going to be a survival type deal and I just had to wait for them guys to mess up, and then I had to take my shot."

As the Duece-Nickel # 25 of Simpson appeared headed for victory, it was the hard charging XR-1 Rocket of Logan Martin that was looking to steal the show. Coming from tail-back due to the lap four contact, Martin took advantage of a rare mistake by Simpson and drove past for the lead as the field crossed the line with only 7 laps to go.

Martin's night came to a devastating end as he went high and made contact with the turn three wall with only four laps remaining. Martin would end his bid at the win on the hook, again turning the top spot over to Simpson.

Making his final start for car owners Bud and Denise Brinkman, Simpson would send them out on top, as he would not be denied and cruised to the championship night win, capping a great Lucas Oil MLA championship journey on an emotional night. Sullivan would come home in second to clinch the 2018 COMP Cams Super Dirt Series title, while Raymond Merrill had his best run of the season in third.

As a light rain shower began to fall, an emotional Simpson said from Andy's Frozen Custard Victory Lane, "I'm going to be honest, I'm a little choked up right now. It didn't hit me until after we took the checkered, it's been a great ride with these guys."

Gavin Landers was the recipient of the Henryetta Ford Hard Luck Award, while B.J. Robinson was presented with the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award in the 40-lapper.

Up next for the CCSDS will be a trip to Jackson Motor Speedway (Byram, Mississippi) on Saturday, November 3 as the tour sanctions the annual All American 60. The event will be headlined by a $6,000-to-win and $600-to start finale.

For more information on the event, please visit www.JacksonMotorSpeedway.net .

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Racing Tires, Larry Shaw Race Cars, New Vision Graphics, Black Diamond Chassis, Midwest Sheet Metal, Beene Oil Co., Quarter Master, Allen Manufacturing, Mid State Golf Cars, ROCKHARD Powder Coating, Mark Martin Automotive Group, Mark Martin Powersports, Henryetta Ford, Central Arkansas Pest Services, Beach Veterinary Services, Racing Head Service, Kellick Farms, Midwest Automation, P&W Sales, and MSR Mafia Marketing Services.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – October 13, 2018
Lucas Oil Speedway (Wheatland, Missouri)

Feature Results
1)Chad Simpson 2)Jac Sullivan 3)Raymond Merrill 4)Terry Phillips 5)Payton Looney 6)Aaron Marrant 7)B.J. Robinson 8)Jesse Stovall 9)Logan Martin 10)Rickey Frankel 11)Scott Crigler 12)Hunter Rasdon 13)Mark Burgtorf 14)Mason Oberkramer 15)Mitch McGrath 16)Jeremy Grady 17)Colton Horner 18)Will Vaught 19)J.C. Wyman 20)Tony Jackson Jr. 21)Jake Neal 22)Chad Mallett 23)Kaeden Cornell 24)Matt Furman

DNS: Jordan Yaggy, Gavin Landers, Josh Leonard, Lynn Beach, Skip Frey, Justin Reed, Ryan Johnson, Justin Zeitner, David Payne, Lane Ehlert, Todd Shute, Dylan Hoover, Shad Badder, Steve Johnson, Jeff Roth, Blonde Bomber, Joe Godsey, Kaleb Stolba, Robert Baker
Entries: 44
Black Diamond Chassis Heat Race #1 Winner: Scott Crigler
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner: Will Vaught
P&W Sales Heat Race #3 Winner: Chad Simpson
Racing Head Service Heat Race #4 Winner: Mason Oberkramer
Hoosier Race Tire Heat Race #5 Winner: Tony Jackson Jr.
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Tony Jackson Jr.
Hoosier Racing Tire B-Main Winners:
Henryetta Ford Hard Luck Award: Gavin Landers
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: B.J. Robinson
COMP Cams Top Performer: Chad Simpson
Lap Leaders: Tony Jackson Jr (1-3), Jesse Stovall (4-2Cool, Logan Martin (34-36), Chad Simpson (29-33, 37-40)
Join the "Mafia" For
Website Design, Hosting, Driver PR, & MORE.. www.MSRMafia.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    midsouthracing.com Forum Index -> Midsouth Racing Scene Forum All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group